A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

The Top 10 Wicket Taking Bowlers In The IPL History So Far

Posted by : Peter James on | May 11,2021

The Top 10 Wicket Taking Bowlers In The IPL History So Far

Indian Premier League has given us so many talented Bowlers in the 13 seasons. Presenting Updated List Of Highest Wicket Taking Bowlers in the Indian Premier League.

1.Lasith Malinga (Matches 122  Wickets 170)

(Mumbai Indians)

The name is enough for this player. Known for his toe-crushing Yorkers, Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker of the IPL history so far. He has played staggering 122 matches consistently for Mumbai Indian’s franchise from the start and has swept 170 wickets.

However this year he announced retirement from the franchise cricket expressing his desire to play and focus more on Sri Lankan cricket. After this Mumbai Indians released him ahead of the auctions.

2. Amit Mishra (Matches 150 Wickets 160)

(Deccan Chargers, Delhi Capitals, Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad)

The second-highest wicket-taker, Amit Mishra is just 10 wickets short of becoming the highest wicket-taker. This leg spinner has the most amount of hattricks in the tournament and has scalped 160 wickets so far.

3. Piyush Chawla (Matches 164 Wickets 156)

(Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders)

Piyush Chawla has scooped 156 wickets in his IPL career. The third-highest wicket-taker is well known for his disguised googlies.

Besides being the crafty leg spinner is also quite handy with bat and provides support for the lower middle order.

4. Dwayne Bravo (Matches 140 Wickets 153)

(Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Lions, Mumbai Indians)

A valuable all-rounder Dwane Bravo has amassed 153 wickets so far. It’s been known that he has been the vital cogs of Chennai’s winning matches.

He won the Purple Cap in the 2013 edition of IPL, for taking 32 wickets for CSK.

5. Harbhajan Singh (Matches 160 Wickets 150)

(Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians)

The ‘Turbinator’ Harbhajan Singh comes fifth with his wicket-taking. He has taken 150 Wickets from the 160 matches.

The veteran Indian spinner is now selected by the KKR franchise this year.

6. Ravichandran Ashwin (Matches 154 Wickets 138)

(Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Rising Pune Supergiants)

Ashwin is known for his "sodukku ball" aka carrom ball. The spinner has scalped 154 wickets so far in IPL history.

With the quirky spinning still in his arsenal, we can hope that he will climb up wicket-taking charts with his special Midas touch.


7. Bhuveshwar Kumar ( Matches 121 Wickets 136)

(Pune Warriors, Sunrisers Hyderabad)

In 2011 when he was picked up by Pune Warriors, he became one of the constant shining lights for the otherwise doomed franchise.

By playing for the Pune franchise and Bhuvi has picked up 136 wickets in the IPL history till now.


8. Sunil Narine ( Matches 120 Wickets 127)

(Kolkata Knight Riders)

He is a great contributer the the Kolkata team. Due to his exceptional bowling skills, he made his KKR team win their first maiden title of the tournament.

The lethal bowler has picked up 127 wickets in 120 matches.


9. Yuzvendra Chahal (99 matches 121 wickets)

(Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore)

A vital member of the Bangalore-based franchise, the wrist-spinner is known for entertaining persona on the grounds.

He has taken 121 wickets in his 99 matches.


10. Umesh Yadav (121 matches 119 wickets)

(Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Umesh Yadav is known for his exceptional pace and has picked up 119 wickets so far.